If you open Settings during a scan, the scan is aborted (not paused). This is in case user changes any settings that are affecting the scan. When Settings is closed, a new scan is started, using the current user settings.
It is implemented like this, because it is the most simple way to implement it. Simple usually means less risk for bugs.